About Us

With its network of parishes covering the country, the Church of England plays an active role in national life, bringing an important Christian dimension to the nation as well as strengthening community life. The Church of England is arranged geographically into 41 Dioceses, each under the care of a Bishop, and covers every part of England.

The Diocese of York extends from Middlesbrough on the River Tees to Hull on the River Humber, and from the east coast of Yorkshire about as far west as the A1, an area which is home to 1.4 million people. We are a family of 607 churches and 125 schools in 470 parishes, led and guided in their faith and work by the Archbishop of York, Dr John Sentamu. York Minster is the principal church of the Diocese of York, and is the traditional seat of the Archbishop's authority. Our vision is to be a family of Generous Churches Making and Nurturing Disciples.

The diocesan office is located at Clifton Moor, York. Led by Canon Peter Warry, Diocesan Secretary and Chief Executive, the teams operating from there and across the diocese provide services to support the mission and ministry of our churches, parishes and schools.

This includes:

• Church Buildings

• Communications

• Education

• Finance

• Human Resources

• Pastoral and Synodical Matters

• Property

• Safeguarding

• Training